FlagInWindow_IMG_0018-2 copy

Have you ever tried to make sense out of the author rankings and sales ratings on Amazon?

For example, on March 4, 2016 my Author Ranking on Amazon was 1,189,814.

On March 5 Abandoned Dreams was released as an e-book after being available for about three months as a pre-order.

There was one sale and my Author Ranking rose to 791,455, a jump of 398,359 points. My ranking as of this writing is 833,996 and dropping, but still significantly higher than in previous months and all on the strength of one sale.

On February 14th Abandoned Dreams entered Amazon’s system with a sales ranking of 167,189, that’s without a sale. On March 5 with one sale under my belt my ranking had dropped to 1,431,617.

Does any of this make sense to you?

Of course it makes less sense that I care what my ranking is considering there are hundreds of thousands of authors listed on Amazon apparently doing better than me.

While we’re on the subject of making sense, which I seldom do, here’s another enigma.

After giving two books away on Goodreads I noticed 193 people had added Loving the Terrorist (one of the books I gave away) as “want to read”, and 259 people had added Saving Spirit Bear as “want to read”.

That was two months ago and those numbers haven’t changed. Apparently, not one person has read either of my books despite “want(ing) to read” them.

I’m thinking clicking the “want to read” button is equivalent to “friending” and “following”, it signifies nothing.

And despite 1,195 people entering the contest and four actually winning books the number of reviews I’ve received on Goodreads hasn’t increased either.

To add insult to injury this month their Author Newsletter is pitching “one very simple thing you can do on Goodreads that will boost your visibility, engage your followers, and raise awareness of your book.”

The simple thing is to share your favourite books by adding them to your shelf. This will evidently “Give new readers a better understanding of where you came from by sharing what you enjoy.” It will also generate a “news feed update to your followers”.

It seems like a tremendous stretch to think a follower would read one of my books because they were interested in the books, other than my own, I recommend – and that’s not just because I have no followers.

And yet the folks at Goodreads are adamant that this works just as well as “claiming your author profile, running a giveaway, and enabling Ask the Author.”

Since I’ve tried (am currently trying) the other three suggestions and haven’t had any significant results whatsoever forgive me if I take a pass on this latest one.

I’ll be releasing Abandoned Dreams in paperback likely by the end of the month.

I’ll do it without fanfare.

I mean really, what’s the point.

 

Stay calm, be brave, watch for the signs.

 

30

 

Video book reviews of self-published authors now at Not Your Family, Not Your Friend Video Book Reviews: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCH45n8K4BVmT248LBTpfARQ

Cover Art of books by self-published authors at

https://www.pinterest.com/rod_raglin/rod-raglins-reviews-cover-art/

My novels, FOREST – Love, Loss, Legend and The BIG PICTURE – A Camera, A Young Woman, An Uncompromising Ethic are available on Amazon http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B003DS6LEU and as e-books at https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/raglin

The ECO-WARRIORS series:

Book 1, Saving Spirit Bear – What Price Success?

Book 2, Loving the Terrorist – Beyond Eagleridge Bluffs

Book 3, Not Wonder More – Mad Maggie and the Mystery of the Ancients

are available as e-books an paperbacks at http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B003DS6LEU

 

More of my original photographs can be viewed, purchased, and shipped to you as GREETING CARDS; matted, laminated, mounted, framed, or canvas PRINTS; and POSTERS. Go to: http://www.redbubble.com/people/rodraglin

View my flickr photostream at https://www.flickr.com/photos/78791029@N04/

Or, My YouTube channel if you prefer photo videos accompanied by classical music

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCsQVBxJZ7eXkvZmxCm2wRYA

 

 

 

 

 

 

